Dad’s day

Saturday we met to celebrate Dad’s 90th birthday.
The Antique Farmer, and everyone else, was in a
great mood.

60 years ago we looked like this-

IMG

At his party we looked a little older.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The food was plentiful, everyone had something
to drink, and the weather was perfect. Games were
played by some and all had a story to tell.

Dad got birthday wishes from everyone there and
even one from Peru. I haven’t had that many
pictures taken of me in years, but the wife enjoyed
it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

In an earlier post I mentioned things that had
happened 40 years ago and how I couldn’t figure out
why some were so interested in that time but slow
to get the point. The reason became apparent at
the party.

After 40 years we got to meet my oldest son and
his lovely wife. I cannot begin to explain what
was rattling around my brain, or what I expected,
but I ended up pleasantly surprised and hope they
were also.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Before their arrival my sister kept saying how he
looked so much like me that she forgot she wasn’t
talking to me. Personally, I don’t see it. I don’t
even like my face and I have to live with it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It may have taken 40 years to happen but after a
few minutes of chatting it seemed like we had known
each other for years. We don’t know where things
will go from here but readily admit respect for him
for walking into a party of rednecks, hillbillies,
and crazy people. Sometimes we get carried away
but we do have fun.

God was smiling down on us in the east coast of
Iowa Saturday and I’m sure Mom was smiling with
him.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Dad’s day

  1. Brittius says:

    Happy Birthday, Pop. Many more happy and healthy ones.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Btittius,
    Thanks I’ll tell him.

  3. Grumpa Joe says:

    The likeness is amazing.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    thank you. I don’t see it but I’ve been outvoted.

