The conundrum

bono

Today started out good but got stranger as the day
went on. I awoke after a record breaking six hour
sleep loaded for bear and just as hungry. Ready to
mow and de-weed the entire neighborhood.

After a hearty breakfast that included 2 Snicker’s
bars and several cups of coffee the wife got home
from work and I laid out my game plan. But before I
went out to conquer our neighborhood I decided to
call our local burn/no burn number. Sure enough it
was a no burn day.

Since dry brush couldn’t be burned I got to
thinking, and after several more cups of coffee,
decided to at least mow. I had just grabbed the
keys to the shop to get the mower out when the
door bell rang and in walked dad.

So we had more coffee while talking about how much
groceries cost, where gas prices were going, mom,
and of all things- pussy willows. It seems my
sister is going to put some on mom’s grave.

I didn’t know if there was any signigicance to
doing such a thing, but after dad left I decided to
fire up the computer and find out. My search engine
could find no results for ‘pussy willows on grave’
because I have the family filter on.

I thought no problem I’ll just search for
‘willows’. That search found a lot of resturants,
hotels, and spas but no plants. We don’t know the
actual name for pussy willows because that’s what
we always called them.

So that’s where I’m at now and it looks like a
good thing I slept last night because I will find
something out about pussy willows. Even if it takes
all night. I’d start pulling my hair out but at my
age I’m losing it fast enough as it is.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to The conundrum

  1. Jon Gregory says:

    I found this on Wikipedia

    Pussy willow is a name given to many of the smaller species of the genus Salix (willows and sallows) when their furry catkins are young in early spring. These species include (among many others):

    Goat willow or goat sallow (Salix caprea), a small tree native to northern Europe and northwest Asia.
    Grey willow or grey sallow (Salix cinerea), a small tree native to northern Europe
    American pussy willow (Salix discolor), native to northern North America.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Jon Gregory,
    thanks for the information. I put the filter on when I searched for paint strippers and remember those results.

