The wife was laughing

ideas

While talking with the wife last night the subject
of my lack of hearing came up. She claimed it was
getting worse and that I was probably legally deaf.

I quickly set her straight with my version of the
facts and told her I couldn’t be deaf because I
don’t have to drive with dachshund in the front
seat. I explained that everyone knows those who
can’t hear have to have a hearing ear dog in the
front seat at all times in case of emergency.

After she quit laughing, and smelled my coffee for
alcohol I was again told I was crazy. The wife
knows how I lost the hearing in my one ear several
years ago. It involved a 1966 Cutlass, a case of
beer, a snubnose revolver, a two lane blacktop, and
a night in jail. I don’t miss those days but do miss
my hearing.

My good ear is getting worse because I’m getting
older. I explained to her it had nothing to do with
tuning engines with open headers, time at the
track, running various gas powered lawn equipment
without ear protection, or firing weapons without
ear protection.

Regardless of the cause for my hearing loss it is
the reason I don’t answer my cell phone when I have
it with me. I did answer when our son still lived
at home because he’d tell me it was ringing.

I may have dreamt the part about the dog, every
other thing mentioned is as true as I remember it.
Or my mind could be playing tricks on me again.
But it is based on a true story.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to The wife was laughing

  1. QC Ghost says:

    So… Think on the bright side: You can save 50% when you buy a set of earphone.

  2. Dale Gilmour says:

    I believe the technical term, at least for me, is “selective perception”.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Ghost,
    True, I always wondered why they sell them in pairs.

    Dale Gilmour,
    that works with some but not the wife.

  4. gh0stpupp3t says:

    Love the pic. I need to get my ears checked out bc I’m starting to say “You what?????”

