Pet peeves

ATT000415

I am usually an easy going guy and can honestly
say that I haven’t been mad since Christ rode a
bicycle, but I do have a few things that stick in
my craw.

Recently I’ve noticed the practice of using the
American flag as a doormat at protests while saying
this is the right of the protestors. Here’s the
real deal: putting our flag on the ground, or
floor, is a crime punishable by fine and up to 1
year in jail.

If a veteran, patriot, or other proud American
calls you on this fact they are not being racist.
YOU are being unAmerican. The same goes if they
remove your flag from the ground.

Veterans, patriots, or other proud Americans who
fly the American flag at home should never have to
take the flag down. If it offends you and you use
your right to protest we have no problem with that.
But if you are offended by seeing an American flag
fluttering in the breeze and demand its removal,
YOU are the problem.

Then we have those who want to take our gun rights
away. Does anybody else see the insanity of this?
Legal gun owners obey the laws, criminals never
will.

Finally, the phrase ‘political correctness’ should
be stricken from vocabulary. This particular bull
has been shipped all the way to the processing
plant.

And now that I have that off my chest, it’s time
for a pizza.
Comments are always welcome.

9 Responses to Pet peeves

  1. I could not find your version of the “real deal” regarding putting the flag on the ground. I did learn a lot in my research just now, but not that. Here’s a very good source: http://www.ushistory.org/betsy/flagcode.htm

  2. P.S. But I’ll be by your place momentarily for a slice of pizza……..LOL

  3. 3boxesofbs says:

    I’m one of the people that have a different opinion on the flag. I believe that people have a right to walk on it. They purchased the item and should they choose to burn it, walk on it, or otherwise desecrate it, that is protected under their 1st Amendment Rights.

    I grew up a military brat, spent 4 years in the Air Force and raised 2 Marines (one out after 4 years, one still serving). As much as I am disgusted by the type of person who would do that to a flag, I will protect their right to be idiots or jerks with the flag.

    I also quiet simply believe in the doctrine of ‘fighting words’ — if you provoke someone, you should be ready for the consequences. Therefore, I believe that there should be an affirmative defense to assault regarding this type of provocation; it doesn’t excuse the assault (Yes, your Honor. I struck the victim repeatedly about the head and shoulders) but provides a reason (He wiped his boots on the flag) and reduces the penalty to a reasonable amount (Guilty says the Judge, pay the bailiff $5).

    Just my opinion.

    Bob S.

  4. nitrous55 says:

    I agree with Bob, but I have noticed something. Other than the Israeli flag, you never see these people any other flag. I wonder how they would feel about those flags. My guess, that would be a no no.

  5. Jon Gregory says:

    Thank you so much for posting!! I have all of these! Especially the gun thing, just chucking out the 2nd amendment so fast. And the flag. This is America. If you have a problem with our flag, its time to get out. We don’t have to be all pro muslim, those are the people who want to kill us. And as for political correctness? Junk that ruins the security of our country by making it inapropriate for people to voice concerns about safety, terrorism etc.

  6. Jon Gregory says:

    Sorry about the duplicate response my browser acted up :p

  7. cruisin2 says:

    dakwolf55,
    thanks for the reblog.

    Russel Ray Photos,
    I’ve added a link to post to clear up the law issue, and we always have coffee and pizza ready.

    3boxesofbs,
    thank you and your family for your service. People do have the right to own a flag and the responsibility to obey the laws concerning its use. I do like your take assault penalties.

    nitrous55,
    they would probably get just as worked up as some of us do.

    Jon Gregory,
    glad you liked it and I deleted your duplicate post.

