Down to the wire

Just finished slurping on a batch of bean soup I
made with fresh ingredients and the wife is due
back tomorrow afternoon. Guess that means I have to
clean up the mess in the kitchen.

And that got me thinking. I forgot yesterday was
tax day! We usually have ours filed in February
but a friend stopped by last night to say he just
filed for an extension. So Jerry, this song’s for
you.

Another friend shared a video of some divers and
I liked it so much I’ll share it with you. It looks
like a 3D movie but without the glasses.

After watching the video I got to wondering what
happened with Jonah and the whale? Not taking a
direct route while cruising the information
highway I ran across this old Abbot & Costello
skit.

I then went back to the 50s. Remember the cars?
The music? Then sit back, turn up the speakers,
and enjoy “The Age of Fins”.

Which brought me back to the end of the 60s and
Red Skelton’s Pledge of Allegiance. Instead of
diversity, this is what they should teach in our
schools.

Now I have to get the mess cleaned up and
evidence hidden.

Comments are always welcome.

9 Responses to Down to the wire

  1. ekurie says:

    I liked how Red also would end saying, “goodnight, and God bless.”

  2. gh0stpupp3t says:

    LOL Men and their messes. Haha! XD

  3. cruisin2 says:

    ekurie,
    and nobody got upset! Makes me wonder when the Atheists got here.

    Jon Gregory,
    thanks.

    gh0stpupp3t,
    I can get things done but I never said I could do it neatly.

  4. nitrous55 says:

    I see that the city is looking to add another tax. The “Cultural Tax” for the Figgie and other art venues. Can we stop having free days? I bet those have a bearing on their lack of funds.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    nitrous55,
    doesn’t surprise me. I wonder if we could opt out of the tax if we didn’t want any culture?

  6. nitrous55 says:

    Of course not!

  7. Dale Gilmour says:

    Nitrous,
    After the election, I will predict the city will impose a “Utility franchise fee”, much like the cable franchise fee. It will be just another “fee”, as the city is at the maximum taxation rate allowed by Iowa law, so the only way to increase their income is to add yet another “fee”, or raise the assessed valuation of your home, which they recently did.

  8. cruisin2 says:

    nitrous55,
    thought not.

    Dale Gilmour,
    they just raised the garbage and recycle fees for 2 straight years
    and since we already have a rain water runoff fee, I think you’re
    right. Of course the city could always spend less.

