Offline

We didn’t do a post yesterday because we had no
internet access. It wasn’t a power outage or any
problem with our ISP, it was the wife telling me
we were going out of town and I needed to decide
where we were going.

So we piled in the car yesterday with temperatures
below zero to cruise I knew not where. After about
75 miles we reached our destination, I think, and
proceed to take in the local culture of the
northern most end of Iowa’s east coast.

Things went well, the wife found some sales, I
found a place that sold Philly cheese steak melts
with a boatload of fries, and we found a decent
motel room.

We awoke to a dusting of snow on the ground and
below zero temperatures to begin our homeward
journey. When I first got on the highway it looked
like this.

100_1752

We proceed south on the road, topped a hill, and
descended into this.

100_1753

It looked as if God had dropped his cotton ball
from the heavens and hit our car. Things did clear
up after 2 of the longest miles I’ve ever cruised.

But it paid off with the vista that awaited us
after things cleared up. The sky turned blue and
the surrounding trees looked like had all been
flocked for the holidays.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

What made it a really great get away is that when
we got home there was no snow to shovel! I guess
you had to be there.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Offline

  1. gh0stpupp3t says:

    Spring is a capricious thing. 🙂 Great stuff!

  2. cruisin2 says:

    gh0stpupp3t,
    thank you. With the weather we’ve been having lately spring seems
    more like a rumor.

  3. Pete says:

    The changing weather and wide open spaces reminds me of my semi weekly trips to town to buy supplies. But even at almost 70 I do always end up shoveling snow.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Pete,
    I always shovel ours, but we just got a dusting while we were gone.
    The sun took care of it by noon. Tried letting kids needing money do it and always ending up touching up spots they missed.

