A pickup in the snow

100_1691

After the wife went to work I was out shoveling
the fluffy white winter love from above that fell
on us for a good part of the day when I heard a
vehicle approaching from behind me.

It had glasspacks and sounded like it had a really
healthy cam in it. I stepped to the side of the
alley to let it pass and noticed it was a rather
plain looking pickup truck.

Just then, after coming down the grade of our
alley, the driver turned uphill onto the street.
And that was when all hell broke loose. It sounded
like a wheelbarrow full of quarters dancing around
inside a clothes dryer! Crash, clunk, bang. Crash,
clunk, bang.

He wasn’t making a lot of headway up the hill so
I caught up and asked if there was anything I could
do to help. He claimed his rear-end was going out,
he was just trying to make it home it home, and he
didn’t need any help. I know when I’m not wanted
so snow removal became job one once again.

You could hear the rear-end clanging over the
glasspacks and about every third revolution of the
axles the truck would limp forward about a foot. He
made it to the top of the hill and turned onto the
level street then idled out of hearing range.

Don’t know if he made it home or not, but I did
finish shoveling the fluffy white winter love from
above off our front sidewalk.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to A pickup in the snow

  1. nitrous55 says:

    So Gluba is excited that Viking Cruise Line is interested in running the Mississippi. Funny how a Global Warming, Cooling, Warming, Climate Change, Climate Disruption Believer is all for another big tank of diesel chugging through the river waiting to spill (well, that works for denying the pipeline).

  2. cruisin2 says:

    nitrous55,
    or it could affirm the need for Gluba’s pier jutting out from our waterfront.

  3. nitrous55 says:

    I’m it would justify it. I still don’t understand why he would be for it. After all, can he not see the effects of Global Warming that we are experiencing right this minute?

  4. cruisin2 says:

    nitrous55,
    lol, indeed I do. I still don’t have heat in my office.

