Sometimes we wonder

rights

A friend shared an article that pushed my buttons.
It was on the ABC News website and talked
of how and Iowa widow had around $19,000
seized from her account because it wasn’t deposited
right.

Because of a law that doesn’t allow large sums
of money to be deposited in amounts less than
$10,000 this poor woman is a criminal. This is to
help investigators track large sums of cash tied
to criminal activity they say. But has it gotten
out of hand?

In seven years the IRS seized $242 million, a
third simply because less than $10,000 was
deposited. About half was returned after those
who lost the money challenged the IRS.

So if I had $20,000 and deposited it in 4 banks
I would be a criminal, but if I deposited it in
2 banks I would be a pillar of the community? How
crazy is that! If it’s my money I should be able
to put what I want where I want without fear of
prosecution.

The picture is a poster done by David Mann.
Comments are always welcome.

7 Responses to Sometimes we wonder

  1. Grumpa Joe says:

    Good luck America, I hope you survive the transformation.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    it is a sad commentary on what we have become.
    Thanks for the reblog.

  3. Eric says:

    Just so everyone is aware, this is a 1980s-era law. Don’t pretend it’s something new and shiny.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Eric,
    We know the law isn’t new but do believe we haven’t heard of this level of confiscation before.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    desertrat31,
    thanks for the reblog.

