The Snowblower Incident

DSCN0007

Ever have one of those days when you figure
you have all your options covered, then the
rules change?

During the first snowfall of the year, in our
neck of the woods, I was gloating while getting
my gear in order.

I had two snowblowers I thought were ready to
go and foul weather gear good to around -20
degrees. How could a couple of inches of snow
spoil my day?

It all started at the gas station. This gas
station has always had one pump of straight
unleaded without any ethanol in it. But when
I pulled up to the pumps this year, all pumps
had the ethanol sticker.

Not sure if the ethanol mandate had kicked in
I decided to just get the ethanol mix rather
than drive to various stations on the off
chance they did have straight gas.

My second dilemma came when the gas can was
safely back in the garage. While I had two
snowblowers, one was a 4-cycle and the other
a 2-cycle.

Should I leave the gas straight, or mix the
oil? Mistake number 3, I mixed the oil in.

Over the summer I had been given a Toro that
I was told ran like new. It looked better than
my other one so I assumed it would run great.

Yep. Mistake number 4, never assume anything.

The snow was gently falling when I gassed up
the Toro and decided to use it. On the third
pull the primer button fell apart and it would
not start.

No problem, I’ve got the Craftsman 4-cycle.
Filling it with the oil/gas mix and plugging
in the extension cord for the starter I
believed I was on my way to clear driveway.

That’s when mistake number 5 hit. Forgetting
to open the overhead door before starting a
4-cycle engine with a 2-cycle gas mix creates
an enormous noxious gas cloud.

I managed to get the overhead door open soon
enough that the neighbors didn’t call the fire
department, but it took a while to stop the
coughing.

The smoke had more or less left the garage by
the time I finished clearing the driveway, the
alley, and the front walk.

Over coffee later I went over the events of
the day and decided, I should have shopped
around for some straight gas.

Oh yeah, the picture of the tire on the fence.
I spotted it not far from Casa Cruiser
and thought it looked neat.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to The Snowblower Incident

  1. Grumpa Joe says:

    Snow blower escapades, I love them.

  2. Snow Blower Parts Locator Service – Locate parts for your
    Snowblower. We can locate parts for almost any
    snowblower make and type:

    Snow blower : Belt (s) Snow blower : Shear bolts
    Snow blower : Electric Starters
    Snow blower : Accessories
    Snow blower : OEM Replacement Parts Snow blower : Discs
    Snow blower : Springs Snow blower : Cables
    Snow blower : Misc. Fuel Parts
    Snow blower : Gaskets Snow blower : Pulleys
    Snow blower : Ignition Parts Snow blower : Skids
    Snow blower : Mufflers
    Snow blower : Pistons and Rings Snow blower : Chute Parts
    Snow blower : Starters Snow blower : Paddle Sets
    Snow blower : Auger
    Snow blower : Gear Case Snow blower : Shafts
    Snow blower : Drive
    Snow blower : Train Parts

    Were offering the locator service to those that need the snow blower/thrower parts and dont have time to
    find them to install them. We will do all the hard work of finding a source
    for the part (s) you need and then we will give you detailed information on cheapest and closest options
    to go and get your part from and cost. That way you can just go and pay for the parts you needed and your
    set.

  3. It was the first snowfall of the year, Min my house was covered with snow all around , I was gloating while getting
    my gear in order to start it.

  4. It has been seen that most people have snow thrower equipments,But they could not be able to remove the snow for the want of fuel.Because they could not collect fuel in timely.So we have to keep in mind that.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 591 other followers

